Sixteen-year-old bassist Wolfgang Van Halen performs during Van Halen's concert Thursday Sept. 27, 2007 at Charlotte Bobcats Arena in Charlotte, N.C (AP Photo/Jason E. Miczek).

Like I’ve been saying for a while, the current Van Halen tour is not a reunion, it’s a reunification between Roth and the Van Halens, and a rejuvenation thanks to the arrival of the first teenager to play in the band since 1975. Tonight the first of over three dozen shows with David Lee Roth and the Musical Van Halens went down in Charlotte, NC. The remote location was obviously chosen to give the band a soft landing, and from live reviews it sounds like they didn’t need it.

The first email reports are in: “VH storm the stage at 8:30 sharp. “You Really Got Me” — crowd goes nuts. Followed by “I’m the One,” which is a surprise as “Romeo’s Delight” was believed to be the 2nd song. Dave sounds great. Eddie is on fire. I guess sobriety agrees with him…The set list is a VH fan’s wet dream. Alex is pounding the kit like it’s 1978 and Wolfie has the energy of a teenager — wait, he is one! Nothing like your first gig ever to be in front of 15,000 of David Lee Roth’s closest friends! Wolf has been using every inch of the stage, if the tour lasts he may shed that baby fat yet!… Call FEMA, Charolette has been devastated by hurricane VAN HALEN.”

Here’s the set list for last night, Charlotte, NC, Bobcats Arena, 09/27/07 — according to

1. You Really Got Me
2. I’m the One
3. Runnin’ With the Devil
4. Romeo Delight
5. Somebody Get Me a Doctor
6. Beautiful Girls
7. Dance the Night Away
8. Atomic Punk
9. Everybody Wants Some
10. So This Is Love?
11. Mean Street
12. Pretty Woman
13. Drum Solo
14. Unchained
15. I’ll Wait
16. And the Cradle Will Rock
17. Hot for Teacher
18. Little Dreamer
19. Little Guitars
20. Jamie’s Cryin’
21. Ice Cream Man
22. Panama
23. Guitar Solo (incl. “Women in Love” intro, “Cathedral”, “Eruption”)
24. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love


25. 1984/Jump

All great news after ten years or more of anticipation by Van Halen fans. See you in Philadelphia…


Review: Thanks, Monte


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here